Waymon Hudson

FL Co-Sponsors of DOMA Repeal Legislation

Filed By Waymon Hudson | September 17, 2009 10:30 AM | comments

Filed in: Marriage Equality, Politics
Tags: Alcee Hastings, Cathy Castor, Debbie Wasserman-Schultz, Defense of Marriage Act, DOMA, Jerrold Nadler, Respect for Marriage Act, RFMA, Robert Wexler

Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY) has announce the introduction of the "Respect for Marriage Act." The legislation would repeal the odious Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), which passed Congress and was signed into law by President Clinton in 1996.

There are 91 original co-sponsors, quite a large number, for the bill. Included on the list are some familiar names from Florida:

* Representative Debbie Wasserman Schultz
* Representative Alcee Hastings,
* Representative Robert Wexler
* Representative Cathy Castor

Read what Rep. Hasting shad to say about DOMA after the jump and see the full list of co-sponsors...

Hastings, a staunch advocate for the LGBT community who been a leader in fighting against "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" and spoken out for LGBT Iraqis in the past, had this to say about why he signed on as a co-sponsor:


The Defense of Marriage Act is unconstitutional, unconscionable, and illogical. Gay Americans are active in their communities, raise families, and pay taxes just like everyone else. All those who assume the serious legal responsibilities of marriage should be afforded equal rights and protection under the law.

Leave it Hastings to lay it out like it should be!

A big thanks to all the Florida co-sponsors of the Respect for Marriage Act. As a community, it is time for us to look at the names not on the list in our districts (and there are some surprising names missing from progressive Democrats and other supposed "allies" to our community) and start putting on the pressure to get them on board!

The co-sponsors of the bill are:

Representative Jerry Nadler
Representative Tammy Baldwin
Representative Jared Polis
Representative John Conyers
Representative Eliot Engel
Representative Mary Jo Kilroy
Representative Jackie Speier
Representative Shelly Berkley
Representative Alcee Hastings
Representative Carolyn Maloney
Representative Mike Quigley
Representative Steve Israel
Representative Jan Schakowsky
Representative Raul Grijalva
Representative Neil Abercrombie
Representative Diana DeGette
Representative Pete Stark
Representative Robert Wexler
Representative Peter Welch
Representative Linda Sanchez
Representative Lynn Woolsey
Representative Mike Capuano
Representative Anthony Weiner
Representative Jose Serrano
Representative John Olver
Representative Earl Blumenauer
Representative Ed Markey
Representative Eleanor Holmes Norton
Representative Paul Hodes
Representative Gary Ackerman
Representative Nydia Velazquez
Representative Rob Andrews
Representative Chaka Fattah
Representative George Miller
Representative Barbara Lee
Representative Maurice Hinchey
Representative Mike Honda
Representative Jim McDermott
Representative Debbie Wasserman Schultz
Representative Diane Watson
Representative Nita Lowey
Representative Yvette Clarke
Representative Keith Ellison
Representative Robert Brady
Representative Luis Gutierrez
Representative Donna Edwards
Representative Dennis Kucinich
Representative Frank Pallone
Representative Rush Holt
Representative John Larson
Representative Ed Towns
Representative John Lewis
Representative Bobby Scott
Representative Xavier Becerra
Representative Jim Moran
Representative Bob Filner
Representative Henry Waxman
Representative Lucille Roybal-Allard
Representative Chris Murphy
Representative Ed Pastor
Representative Lois Capps
Representative Martin Heinrich
Representative Bill Delahunt
Representative Jim McGovern
Representative Brad Sherman
Representative Joe Sestak
Representative Howard Berman
Representative Carol Shea-Porter
Representative Jesse Jackson, Jr.
Representative Steve Rothman
Representative Patrick Kennedy
Representative Susan Davis
Representative Chellie Pingree
Representative Mazie Hirono
Representative Paul Tonko
Representative Niki Tsongas
Representative Hank Johnson
Representative Doris Matsui
Representative Jane Harman
Representative Grace Napolitano
Representative John Tierney
Representative Jim Himes
Representative Joe Courtney
Representative Mike Doyle
Representative Zoe Lofgren
Representative Sam Farr
Representative Greg Meeks
Representative Charlie Rangel
Representative Dan Maffei
Representative Rosa DeLauro
Representative Kathy Castor
Representative Betty McCollum

Recent Entries Filed under Politics:

Leave a comment

We want to know your opinion on this issue! While arguing about an opinion or idea is encouraged, personal attacks will not be tolerated. Please be respectful of others.

The editorial team will delete a comment that is off-topic, abusive, exceptionally incoherent, includes a slur or is soliciting and/or advertising. Repeated violations of the policy will result in revocation of your user account. Please keep in mind that this is our online home; ill-mannered house guests will be shown the door.