Father Tony

Kate Clinton is Lambda Literary 2010 Pioneer Award Winner

Filed By Father Tony | June 02, 2010 3:00 PM | comments

Filed in: Entertainment
Tags: gay literature, Kate Clinton, lambda literary awards, larry kramer

The Lambda Literary Foundation held its 22nd annual awards ceremony in Manhattan at the School of Visual Arts Theatre on May 27, 2010. The first Lambda Literary Awards were presented at a black-tie gala ceremony in 1989. Every year since then they have been awarded to the finest lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans literature available in the United States. The "Lammy" is the most prestigious, competitive, and comprehensive literary award offered specifically to LGBT authors.kate clinton pioneer.jpg

The Lambda Literary Foundation bestows its Pioneer Award on individuals who have broken new ground in the field of LGBT literature and publishing. Established in 1995, the Award honors those who, through their achievements and passionate commitment, have contributed to the LGBT literary community in significant and tangible ways: through works of literature, or by establishing publishing houses, publications, archives, bookstores, or other institutions.Lambda_Literary_Awards_logo_gold.jpg

This year, Bilerico's own Kate Clinton was honored with a Pioneer Award. A second Pioneer Award went to the indomitable Larry Kramer. You won't find two more different jewels in the LGBT crown nor any two so valuable and admirable. As Kate put it "Larry and I are like comedy and tragedy. You can decide which is which." She went on to proclaim the fact that she and her girlfriend Urvashi Vaid are the last unmarried twenty-plus year no-pets lesbian couple east of the Mississippi.

The social hour in the theater lobby and the after party of this annual event are wonderful opportunities to meet your literary heroes. And the list of nominees/winners in 23 categories is the best way to structure your summer reading. That list and more photos are after the jump.

Check out the 2010 list of Lammy finalists/winners.

Leave a comment

We want to know your opinion on this issue! While arguing about an opinion or idea is encouraged, personal attacks will not be tolerated. Please be respectful of others.

The editorial team will delete a comment that is off-topic, abusive, exceptionally incoherent, includes a slur or is soliciting and/or advertising. Repeated violations of the policy will result in revocation of your user account. Please keep in mind that this is our online home; ill-mannered house guests will be shown the door.

WIth all due respect to Kate, because she is a pioneer and groundbreaker, the LAMBDA awards are utter bullshit. Who's the winner in the "transgender" category this year: Lynnee Breedlove’s One Freak Show, by Lynn Breedlove.

Breedlove is at best a situationally trans person (whenever he/she feel's like ID'ing that way) who regularly disrespects trans women. That book is a trifle of lame observations and GQ cliches. Why even bother having a trans category if that's what you're going to honor? Just call it the Gay & Lesbian book awards and keep it real.

I'm glad the Lambda Literary Foundation is out there providing some much needed publicity for LGBT books. Looks like I'm way behind on my reading, but at least now I know what's on my list.

Kudos to Kate Clinton - one of my faves.

Anonymous | May 8, 2011 11:36 PM

Isn't the whole idea of LGBT freedom to identify as you see fit, whenever you see fit? As for the selection of awardees, a national panel of judges working independently from one another choose the winners. Of course, you don't have to agree with the selections or like the authors, but that's not a reason to trash the awards. I disagreed that "CRASH" was a better movie than "Brokeback Mountain", but I don't call the Academy Awards "bullshit". That's really throwing the baby out with the bathwater.