Bil Browning

Former Bilerico Intern Places 3rd for Online Journalism Award

Filed By Bil Browning | July 10, 2012 2:30 PM | comments

Filed in: Marriage Equality, Media
Tags: Adam Polaski, National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association, Online Journalism Award

Congratulations to former Bilerico Project intern Adam Polaski for his third place finish for a National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association award for online journalism. Adam's coverage of the Bill Graber/Paula Brooks Lez Get Real scandal garnered kudos across the blogosphere last year Thumbnail image for nlgja_logo.jpegwith his exclusive interviews with all of the Lez Get Real bloggers and Graber himself.

Graber, a married straight man from Ohio, posed as Paula Brooks, a lesbian blogger who founded the site Lez Get Real. His reporting was often under fire as being inflammatory and exaggerated. Graber was exposed after Tom MacMaster was revealed to be behind the Gay Girl in Damascus blog where he also posed as a lesbian blogger.

Jim Burroway of Box Turtle Bulletin took home the Excellence in Online Journalism prize for his article "What Are Little Boys Made Of?" Burroway makes the second blogger to win the online journalism award. I won last year for my coverage of HIV+ immigrant Betsie Gallardo's imprisonment and subsequent release.

"Judges were especially impressed with the work of Jim Burroway of Box Turtle Bulletin, who took citizen journalism to a new level with his coverage of George Reker's experiment in uncovering what makes little boys gay and the experiment's impact on one particular man," says David Steinberg, NLGJA's National Board President. "NLGJA's Excellence in Journalism Awards recognize a variety of media and journalists who exemplify NLGJA's commitment to fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues."

Awards will be presented at the UNITY 2012 Convention NLGJA Awards Reception, August 3, 2012 in Las Vegas. A complete list of the winners is after the break.

(Disclosure: I am a NLGJA board member, but I don't sit on the committee that decides who wins the awards.)

NLGJA Journalist of the Year
Winner: Steven W. Thrasher - Village Voice, New York Times, Out

Sarah Pettit LGBT Journalist of the Year
Winner: Chris Geidner - Metro Weekly
Runner-Up: Jen Colletta - Philadelphia Gay News

Excellence in News Writing
First Place: Chris Geidner, Metro Weekly, DOJ Stops Defending DOMA
Second Place: Brett Zongker, Associated Press, Coverage of the National Portrait Gallery's first show on history of LGBT art
Third Place: Jen Colletta, Philadelphia Gay News, Coverage of the Stacey Blahnik murder

Excellence in Feature Writing
First Place: Cary Aspinwall, Tulsa World, "Becoming Kate"
Second Place: June Thomas, Slate, "The Gay Bar"
Third Place: Karina Bland, Arizona Republic, "2 Gay Dads, 12 Happy Kids"

Excellence in Student Journalism
First Place: Simon Husted, Fusion (Kent State), "Jake Nash: Speaking For The Transgender Community"

Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage
First Place: CNN, "30 Years of AIDS: Profiles" Writer/Producers: Elizabeth Landau and Madison Park,
Second Place: CNN, Sanjay Gupta MD: AIDS Turns 30 Correspondent: Dr. Sanjay Gupta Senior Executive Producer: Roni Selig Executive Producer- Jennifer Pifer Bixler
Third Place: Regan Hoffman, Poz, "R.I.P. HIV"

Excellence in Opinion Writing
First Place: Aaron Stella, Philadelphia Gay News
Second Place: Sean Bugg, Metro Weekly

Excellence in Radio
First Place: California Report for KQED, "AIDS at 30" Host/Reporter: Scott Shafer
Second Place: SiriusXM OutQ News, "Live Coverage: Gay Marriage in New York" Anchor/Producer: Xorje Olivares
Third Place: State of the Re:Union, "Laramie After Matthew Shepard" Host and Executive Producer: Al Letson Producer: Laura Starecheski

Excellence in Online Journalism
First Place: Jim Burroway, Box Turtle Bulletin, "What Are Little Boys Made of"
Second Place: Michael Luongo, The Advocate, "Unlikely Activist"
Third Place: Adam Polaski, Bilerico Project, Lez Get Real/Paula Brooks Scandal

Excellence in Network Television
First Place: CNN, "Anderson Cooper 360: Sissy Boy Experiments" Correspondents: Anderson Cooper, Randi Kaye Executive Producer for AC360: Charlie Moore
Second Place: CNN International, "World's Untold Stories: Corrective Rape" Executive Producers: Mike McCarthy, Sheri England Correspondent: Nkepile Mabuse
Third Place: CNN, "Anderson Cooper 360: Bullying It Stops Here" Correspondent: Soledad O'Brien Anchor: Anderson Cooper Executive Producer: Charlie Moore

Excellence in Local TV
First Place: WDAF-TV (Fox-Kansas City), "Meet My Moms" Reporter/Anchor: Abby Eden Photojournalist: Sarah Thacker

Recent Entries Filed under Media:

Leave a comment

We want to know your opinion on this issue! While arguing about an opinion or idea is encouraged, personal attacks will not be tolerated. Please be respectful of others.

The editorial team will delete a comment that is off-topic, abusive, exceptionally incoherent, includes a slur or is soliciting and/or advertising. Repeated violations of the policy will result in revocation of your user account. Please keep in mind that this is our online home; ill-mannered house guests will be shown the door.